HSC Presents Faculty Mentor Awards to Bergbreiter, Caffey

The Texas A&M Honors Student Council will present Dr. David Bergbreiter and Dr. Stephen Caffey with the Wells Fargo Honors Faculty Mentor Award in recognition of their dedication and commitment to excellence in education at the annual Honors Recognition Ceremony, May 12, at the College Station Hilton and Convention Center.

Wells Fargo Faculty Mentors are nominated and then selected by open voting among students actively participating in the University Honors Program. Award recipients distinguish themselves by extending the mentoring relationship beyond the confines of the classroom, encouraging a spirit of inquiry in their students, being thoughtful teachers, and exhibiting the strongest desire to train a new generation of thinkers and creators. “Providing opportunities for students to develop academic and professional relationships with the very best faculty is a key principle in honors education,” says Jon Kotinek, Assistant Director for Honors and Undergraduate Research and co-advisor to Honors Student Council.

Dr. David Bergbreiter

Professor of Chemistry and holder of the Eppright University Professorship for Undergraduate Teaching Excellence, Dr. David Bergbreiter moved to Texas A&M after receiving his Ph.D. in 1974 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. A Presidential Professor of Teaching Excellence, he has also previously received Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award for Research. In his 36 years at Texas A&M, he has directed the research of over 100 coauthors of his 240 peer-reviewed publications, has been selected as a Fish Camp namesake, and has “had the pleasure of introducing thousands of sophomores to the enchantment of OChem.”

Dr. Stephen Caffey

Dr. Stephen Caffey, Assistant Professor of Architecture, completed his dissertation research at the Courtauld Institute of Art, London and the Terra Foundation for American Art in Giverny, France. He earned the PhD in art and architectural history from the University of Texas at Austin in 2008, joining the TAMU faculty as Assistant Professor of Art and Architectural History the same year. His courses include surveys of the history of art and architecture from the Renaissance to the present day, History of Modern art, History of American Art and Visual Cultures of Islamic South Asia. Dr. Caffey is a faculty affiliate of the American Studies Program, Assistant Director of the Sustainability and Energy Laboratory and a faculty fellow of the Center for Heritage Conservation.Caffey’s research interests include visual and spatial literacies, the role of empire in identity formation and the integration of passive climate-responsive features from historic architecture into contemporary design practice.

Wells Fargo Honors Faculty Mentors receive a $1,000 award, made possible by a generous endowment from Wells Fargo. “But we know that good teachers aren’t simply motivated by monetary gain,” Kotinek adds. “The real prestige of this award is in that it is given by students in recognition of the countless hours that honors professors pour into developing and challenging the lives and minds of the student body.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s