Dr. Christopher Quick Selected for 2014 Unterberger Award

In 2004, the Betty M. Unterberger Award for Outstanding Service to Honors Education was created and presented to Dr. Unterberger in recognition of her many years of service and significant contribution to the growth and development of high-impact education at Texas A&M.

2014 Unterberger Award Plaque
2014 Unterberger Award Plaque

The 2014 recipient of the Betty M. Unterberger Award is Dr. Christopher Quick.

To see a list of previous recipients, visit the TAMU HUR Faculty Awards page.

Dr. Suma Datta presents the 2014 Unterberger Award to Dr. Chris Quick
Dr. Suma Datta presents the 2014 Unterberger Award to Dr. Chris Quick

After earning a Doctorate in Biomedical Engineering, Dr.

Dr. Christopher Quick, 2014 Unterberger Award recipient
Dr. Christopher Quick, 2014 Unterberger Award recipient

Christopher Quick made the unusual decision to pursue research in cardiovascular science and accept a faculty position in the  Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology at Texas A&M University in 2002.

After failing repeatedly to find potential graduate students that were both interested and prepared to enter the esoteric field of computational physiology, he worked with faculty and students to turn his lab into an incubator for developing novel approaches to integrate research and education. The most successful approach so far has been the development of the “Research-Intensive Community” model. Pairing experienced students seeking leadership experience with a multidisciplinary team of students seeking research experience, he found that he could radically increase the number of research opportunities for undergraduates and lower the barriers to participation.

Dr. Quick applied this model to create the DeBakey Undergraduate Research Program in 2004, which has since steadily grown to create research opportunities for over 100 undergraduates per semester. To expand this team-based approach beyond the DeBakey Institute, he worked with faculty and the Office of Honors and Undergraduate Research to create the Aggie Research Scholar Program, which had over 140 participants in the summer of 2013.

Dr. Quick’s efforts to develop sustainable models that are effective, efficient, and scalable have been recognized by the award of four competitive education grants from the NIH and NSF and an Association of Former Students Distinguished Award in Teaching in 2014.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.