Meet the Author, Macy Moore

By Macy Moore ’16

Macy Moore '16, LAUNCH Communications Intern
Macy Moore ’16, LAUNCH Communications Intern

In high school, I decided it was my destiny to become a journalist. Born and bred an Aggie, Texas A&M was the only school I applied for my senior year. At the time, Texas A&M didn’t offer journalism as a major, but the telecommunication media studies major was the next best thing, and I declared journalism as a minor.

I didn’t really know what it meant to be a real journalist until my first couple of internships: one with Maroon Weekly, and another with Insite Magazine. Interviewing people not only exposed their passions and beliefs to the readers of the publications, but the experiences were eye-opening to me as I had the chance to sit down with incredible people in the community and learn about their lives.

Last summer, I interned with Austin Woman magazine as an editorial writer. I felt the same inspirational rush as I interviewed and wrote about the remarkable people of Austin, Texas. Surrounded by the colorful city filled with unusual companies and interesting businesses, I considered the idea of using my journalistic history for more than magazines and newspapers.

During my freshman year, I was so dead set on being a journalist that I didn’t really consider any other profession. At the time, I didn’t realize how well journalism goes hand-in-hand with marketing and public relations.

LAUNCH has given me a great opportunity to assist in their public relations efforts with the weekly bulletins, newsletters, and social media. In addition to that, I’ll use my journalism skills by writing and editing LAUNCH’s blog posts. I admire that the program reaches out to students to engage them in its progress, rather than exclusively using the voices of those who aren’t students. Through my internship with LAUNCH, I’ll gain real life experience with public relations, and I’ll learn how I can use my current skills in the process.

My goal is to use my assets for a company that shares the same values as me. With the magazine industry in a rapid decline, I realized the need to be more open-minded for my career path. As I’ve expanded my horizon to include public relations and marketing along with journalism and communications, my internship with LAUNCH will be very beneficial, and I’m so excited to work with the program and see where it takes me.

Macy Moore’s online portfolio can be found at http://macymoore.pressfolios.com.

Leave a Reply

